Letters from Fedora #1

Having spent most of the first weekend of 2016 trying to install a dual boot system on my aging ASUS N55S laptop, I thought I should recount my experiences, as a personal log mainly.

Fedora (23), first and foremost requires an extended partition on an OS. There are numerous tutorials out there, but the most n00b-proof one I found is here:

win 7 extended partition

The reason for this is that the Fedora installer (Anaconda) needs to be able to create a number of volumes of differing sizes (/boot, swap, /home etc) and Simple Volumes, Logical Drives etc cannot support this (E&OE).

So, I created an extended partition in Windows 7, (which shows up as Free Space) and ran the Fedora installer (from a USB drive). It allowed me to create several partitions, for /boot, swap and / partitions but failed at the final hurdle BECAUSE:

MBR or Master Boot Record is gradually becoming replaced by GPT.

MBR v GPT

To do this on my laptop would require deleting all partitions and the entire OS. It is possible to change MBR to GPT on a disk, but must be done on a single unpartitioned disk, with no data whatsoever. GPT also supports multiple volumes (like an Extended Partition under Windows).
So I just changed MBR to GPT on my 150GB external disk and I can boot into it from Windows BIOS; not quite a dual boot system but hey. I am now running Arduino and Processing within a Linux distro. Next stop PlanetCCRMA, Supercollider and OpenSoundControl.
Yay-ness

 

Leave a Reply

